Farro is an Italian grain that, of late, seems to be growing in popularity. Farro is actually a term used to describe three wheat varieties that were cultivated in the Fertile Crescent: farro piccolo, farro medio, and farro grande (small, medium, and large).
The version that has been imported from Italy to the states is generally the medio variety and is semi-pearled—which means that the grain has retained some of the bran. Farro has a tough husk and can a bit trickier to process than many of these other grains, yet it has an exceedingly high fiber and protein content.
People love farro for its nutty flavor and chewy quality. However, unfortunately, farro is not a gluten free grain so stay away from it if you have a gluten intolerance or sensitivity.